Cop killer's caucus

Posted by DarthDilbert at 12/07/2006 04:50:00 PM

From WSJ Opinion Journal:
The House yesterday passed a resolution "condemning the decision of St. Denis, France, to name a street in honor of Mumia Abu-Jamal, the convicted murder [sic] of Philadelphia Police Office Danny Faulkner." The vote was 368-31, with 8 members voting "present." Here's a list of what one might call the Cop-Killer's Caucus, the congressmen who voted against the resolution, all democRATs: Neil Abercrombie (Hawaii), William Clay (Missouri), Emanuel Cleaver (Missouri), John Conyers (Michigan), Jim Cooper (Tennessee), Danny Davis (Illinois), Raul Grijalva (Arizona), Maurice Hinchey (New York), Mike Honda (California), Jesse Jackson Jr. (Illinois), Eddie Bernice Johnson (Texas), Carolyn Kilpatrick (Michigan), Barbara Lee (California), Cynthia McKinney (Georgia), Gregory Meeks (New York), Jerrold Nadler (New York), James Oberstar (Minnesota), Major Owens (New York), Ed Pastor (Arizona), Donald Payne (New Jersey), Charles Rangel (New York), Bobby Rush (Illinois), Robert Scott (Virginia), Jose Serrano (New York), Fortney Hillman Stark Jr. (California), Edolphus Towns (New York), Mark Udall (Colorado), Nydia Velazquez (New York), Maxine Waters (California), Anthony Weiner (New York), and Lynn Woolsey (California).

The "present" votes came from Sam Farr (California), Al Green (Texas), Luis Gutierrez (Illinois), Sheila Jackson-Lee (Texas), John Lewis (Georgia), George Miller (California), Janice Schakowsky (Illnois) and Melvin Watt (North Carolina.). Tellingly, every member of the Pennsylvania delegation who was present voted "yes."

The most disturbing name on the "no" list is that of John Conyers. Granted, this is only a symbolic vote, but is it really a good idea to entrust the chairmanship of the Judiciary Committee to a man who casts a symbolic vote for a cop-killer and against his victim?

WSJ Opinion Journal
House Resolution 1082


Post a Comment